National Politics

APC’s gubernatorial candidates emerge…

Written by Ade

Sanwo-Olu, Abiodun, Omo-Agege, others win

Governorship candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in some of the states for next year’s general elections have started emerging following the conclusion of the party’s primaries in the states.

Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State secured a second term bid at the party’s primary election held at the MKO Abiola International Stadium, Kuto, Abeokuta, the state capital.

Abiodun polled 1,168 votes out of 1,170 delegates’ accredited votes to defeat other contestants who scored no vote. The other five aspirants are: Abdulkabir Adekunle Akinlade, Biyi Otegbeye, Modele Sarafa-Yusuf, Owodunni Opayemi, and Remi Bakare.

Two votes were, however, voided.

The exercise which was conducted by the five-person electoral panel, led by Wale Ohu, was monitored by the officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission, led by the Director of Elections and Party Monitor, Mrs. Oyafunke Olanike.

Ohu announced Abiodun as the winner of the election after delegates drawn from the 236 wards of 20 local government areas of the state cast their votes.

Ohu said 1,170 delegates were accredited for the election.

In a tweet on Thursday, Modele Sarafa-Yusuf, one of the aspirants, expressed reservations about the conduct of the exercise.

“For the records, four other aspirants had written to the party to ask for direct rather than delegate election so the people’s real voices can be heard but the party, in its wisdom, decided to conduct the indirect primary election,” she wrote.

“While I respect the party’s decision, the process that took place today validates our earlier reservations. That said, I accept the ‘verdict’ and send good wishes to the declared winner, Gov. Dapo Abiodun.”

In Lagos, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu emerged as the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate for the state. His two challengers in the primary: Olawale Oluwo and Olufemi Mustapha were disqualified from participating in the exercise by the election committee of the party.

The Chairman Electoral Committee of Lagos, Governorship Primary, Shettima Yuguda, said that the other two were disqualified by the party in Abuja.

Yuguda said 1,225 delegates from 245 wards across the State were eligible to vote but only 1,198 were officially accredited for the exercise. The total voters accredited were 1,198 of which 1,170 votes were valid and 12 voided.

 While declaring Sanwo-Olu as the winner, the Chairman thanked the delegates for their patience, saying “I acknowledge the support of all of you including our support committee staff.”

 In Rivers State, Tonye Cole, a businessman won the party’s governorship primary. Cole defeated three other candidates at the primary to emerge as the party’s governorship candidate in the state for the 2023 general elections.

He polled a total of 986 votes to defeat Ojukaye Flag Amachree, Seconte Davies, Ibinabo West, and Benrard Mikko, who scored 190, 47, 43 and 2 to come a distant second, third and fourth respectively.

Senator Magnus Abe, who did not turn up for the exercise, got one vote.

The Chairman, Rivers State APC Governorship Primaries Election, Larry Odey, who announced the result said a total of 1308 delegates were accredited while 1295 voted; 1285 votes were valid while 12 votes were voided.

Chief Ikechi Emenike, a publisher, emerged as the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Aba State. He defeated five other aspirants to clinch the ticket at the governorship primary held in Umuahia, Thursday.

The Chairman of the APC governorship primary election committee for Abia, Chief Tony Obiefuna, who declared the result of the poll said that Emenike polled 672 votes out of 892 votes cast by 907 accredited delegates to emerge victorious.

“We hereby return Chief Ikechi Emenike as the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress for Abia State,” Obiefuna said.

Emenike’s closest rival, Chief Emeka Atuma received 150 votes from the delegates, Daniel Eke, 16, Paul Ikonne, 22, Obinna Oriaku, 12, and Uche Ogah, 6. One of the aspirants, Mr. Alex Otti, who had withdrawn from the race on the eve of the primary still got 14 votes.

In Zamfara, Governor Matawalle ran unopposed and secured the votes of 733 out of 735 delegates drawn from the 147 wards of 14 LGAs of the state.

Babagana Tijjani-Banki chaired the electoral committee that supervised the exercise in Zamfara.

Ovie Omo-Agege, the deputy senate president, will represent the APC as the governorship candidate for Delta state as he won the party’s primary held at the premises of the Federal College of Education (FCE). Omo-Agege polled a total of 1,190 votes and was returned unopposed.

A total of 1,235 accredited delegates participated in the primary.

In Enugu state, Uche Nnaji, a businessman, secured 1,070 votes out of 1,100 votes cast during the exercise monitored by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

In his acceptance speech, the APC governorship candidate appreciated the party delegates for their support and promised not to disappoint them.

Governor Muhammadu Yahaya of Gombe state secured the APC gubernatorial ticket for the state. Yahaya polled 563 votes through voice affirmation, while seven delegates were said to have been unable to make it to the venue of the election.

About the author


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: