Tinubu sends second list of Ministerial nominees to Senate as FCT gets a first ministerial nominee

President Bola Tinubu has sent another list of ministerial nominees to the Senate for screening and approval.

The new list, containing 19 new names was through a letter sent through Femi Gbajabiamila, his Chief of Staff, and was read by Godswill Akpabio, the Senate President, on the floor of the Senate on Wednesday.

The new nominees included five former governors: Adegboyega Oyetola (Osun); Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi); Bello Matawelle (Zamfara); Ibrahim Gaidam (Yobe) and Simon Lalong (Plateau).

Other nominees include Zephaniah Bitrus Jisalo, who as the nominee from the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), becomes the first Abuja indigene to be nominated for a ministerial position.

Others are Ahmed Gwarzo (Kano); Maryam Shetti (Kano); Bosun Tijani (Ogun); Isiak Salako (Ogun); Tunji Alausa (Lagos); Lola Ade John (Lagos); Shuaibu Audu (Kogi); Yusuf Sununu (Kebbi); Tahir Mamman (Adamawa); Aliyu Abdullahi (Niger); Alkali Saidu (Gombe); Heineken Lokpobori (Bayelsa); and Maigari Ahmadu (Taraba).

President Tinubu, in the letter, said his request is in line with section 147 (2) of the 1999 constitution, adding that the upper legislative chamber should “expeditiously” screen and confirm the ministerial nominees.

The first list of 28 nominees was forwarded to the Senate for screening and confirmation on July 27.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: