Radda of APC is Katsina’s Governor-elect

Dr Dikko Umar Radda, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared the winner of the March 18, 2023 governorship poll in Katsina State by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Dikko won 33 out of the 34 LGA of the state and scored a total of 859,892 votes to defeat his closest rival Senator Yakubu Lado Danmarke, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who secured 486,620 votes.

Professor Ma’azu Abubakar Gusau, the Chief Returning Officer for the Katsina governorship poll, who declared Dikko the winner said the APC candidate has satisfied all provisions of the Electoral Act to win the election.

A total of 1,399,291 voters were accredited for the election with 1,386,427 voters casting their votes with 1,365,848 votes declared and 20,579 votes invalid.

The numbers of votes obtained by the candidate in the election were:

A -297

AA – 276

ADC – 925

ADP – 2309

APC – 859,892

BP – 403

LP -560

NNPP – 8263

NRM -896

PDP – 486,620

PRP – 4,226

SDP – 1049

ZLP – 132.

The APC also won 32 out of the 34 House of Assembly seats in the state while PDP won only one seat, while that of the Kankia local government was declared inconclusive.


Leave a Reply