INEC declares Umo Eno of PDP winner of Akwa Ibom guber polls

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Pastor Umo Eno of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) the winner of the 2023 Akwa Ibom State governorship election held on Saturday, March 18.

Professor Emmanuel Adigio, the State Returning Officer and Vice Chancellor of Maritime University, Okerenkoko, Delta State, who made the announcement in Uyo, said Eno scored a total of 356,346 votes to emerge winner in the election.

“That the Pst Umo Eno of the PDP having satisfied the requirements of the law is here declared winner of the governorship election in Akwa Ibom State,” he said.


Senator Bassey Akpan, the Young Progressive Party Senator Bassey Akpan, the Young Progressive Partyscored 136,262 votes while the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates scored 129,602 votes to emerge second and third respectively. The New Nigeria Peoples Party followed with 125,09 votes while the Labour Party polled 4,746 votes to follow in the race.

PDP won in 29 out of 31 local government areas of the state while YPP won in two LGAs.

The local government areas won by the PDP include Udung Uko, Uruan, Ini, Esit Eket, Ikot Abasi, Ikot Ekpene, Etim Ekpo and 22 others while the YPP opponent won in Ikono and Ibiono Ibom LGAs.



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: